taz_39: (Default)
[personal profile] taz_39
Things that I Forgot to Write About Before Bed on Tuesday Night:

🌸Jameson asked if I'd like to go see Into the Woods in July at Dr. Phillips. It's being produced by our friend-in-common manager at Universal AND Dr. Phillips itself, AND it features Jodi Benson (The Little Mermaid.) It's a big deal to us for all of these reasons, but mainly the fact that Dr. Phillips is now producing it's own shows instead of just being a venue...that's really exciting and we want to support that (AND our friend who is managing the show!) The tickets are rather expensive but I splurged on them for us :)

🌸A while ago on TikTok I saw that The Boathouse, an upscale restaurant at Disney Springs, has a gigantic Key Lime Pie slice on their dessert menu. Key lime pie is Jameson's favorite. I sent the video to him and asked if he'd like to make a reservation. That was maybe a month ago, and last night we remembered it. I've been trying to get dinner reservations with no luck, but for some reason there are plenty of lunch spots, so we are going to get that key lime pie on Saturday afternoon!

🌸I've mentioned before that Broadway Cares is currently doing fundraising. This organization was founded mainly to fight AIDS, but they also support lots of other initiatives like women's health, health care for actors, etc. To make the process more interesting and fun, this is a fundraising competition between all the Broadway touring and stationary shows to see which show can leverage it's fan base and raise the most money. There is currently a Spring Fling marathon where you can sponsor different running teams with your donation. Beauty and the Beast's team, "The Beasts," is winning!!!
bbb.jpg

🌸My phone was acting funny on Tuesday night, and I realized the new iOS update must be available....and that means.....
THE TROMBONE EMOJI IS HERE!!!!!!!

6TJB3G3IVZDP3KSVRZKEGUY7TM.jpg

I know how silly this may sound, but the trombone community has been advocating for an emoji for SEVEN YEARS so it's a really big deal to see this dream become a reality! The design and proposal were submitted in 2019 by a group of high school students (you can read about the journey from proposal to approved emoji HERE.) Finally, today, we got it!!! Immediately after the update I posted an obnoxious slew of emojis all over the socials. I am going to be insufferable about this for 48 hours :p

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

WEDNESDAY


Despite all of the lovely happenings above, I woke up in kind of a sour mood. Not really sure why but there's always hormones to blame...and really, I think it's Jameson's diagnosis of bone spurs and nerve compression in his neck. I'm worried for him. Not about the medical stuff, because that is just par for the course as we age and when you have a preexisting condition like he does. I'm worried about his mental health. He was very down on himself yesterday...not just because he has to face the possibility of ANOTHER surgery AGAIN, but also because he hasn't been able to go to the gym due to both his work schedule and the pain. He's gained some weight (not a lot) and is depressed about that, and he has some gigs coming up that he'll have to play while in pain. The gigs are a reminder of how he cannot pursue his dream of being a musician any more, but he doesn't want to give up performing when he can. It's kind of a double-edged sword...he WANTS to play so he keeps taking gigs, but taking the gigs is a painful reminder of why he can't pursue his dream. He's trying really hard to go the corporate route with Disney, and don't get me wrong, he enjoys the corporate work too and can envision himself doing it long-term. But it's not his dream. And his body continues to betray him.

We all know how it is...this kind of thing is coming for us all. But he's 45, there are lots of things that he still wanted to be able to do at this age, and the health issues are coming for him sooner than anticipated :(

Anyway, me and my mood were up late and had breakfast late and generally had a late start to the day. I did a little Boston Foodie Finds. Jameson was hoping for shrimp po' boys for dinner, so I decided to have an "Uber Day" and knock out a bunch of errands. I knew that a day like this would happen during the layoff, where I'd have to take multiple $$ Uber rides. Sometimes it'll be avoidable and sometimes not.

Before lunch was Foodie Finds, meal planning and ingredients list, cleaning up my trombones and practicing. After lunch Jameson went to Disney to do some work, and that's when I did my Ubering: to the dry cleaner to drop off my pea coat, and to Publix for ingredients for dinner. I'd wanted to do Walgreens too for Easter candy for Jameson, but didn't want to drag all of my groceries around for that. I have a dentist appointment tomorrow and there's a CVS next door.

One fun thing that I found at Publix today was strawberry English muffins from Stone & Skillet. Excited to check em out :)
341355-600x600-A.jpg
(stock image from Publix)

Back home, mixing up the tartar sauce, emptying the dishwasher, and I started to grab the stepladder to dust the ceiling fans but noticed the push lawn sweeper and decided to do that instead. All of our neighbors have raked their yards, and we have an HOA, so...ya know. That took longer than expected and I feel like it still needs a once-over with a real rake. I felt tired and headachy after that so did a quick dry-Swiffer of the new floors (the Swiffer is still coming up completely grey, oh joy) and then had a snack and relaxed for an hour.

Dinner prep, Jameson texted when he was on his way home so I was assembling our po' boys right as he walked in the door. I do a grilled shrimp recipe to make it healthier, but we still slather the hoagie rolls with homemade tartar sauce, and crunchy fresh iceberg lettuce and juicy tomatoes. That with the spicy zesty shrimp, so yummy! It's a favorite of ours.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

THURSDAY


I'd gone to bed with a headache, and Jameson woke up with one :/ Did not know that headaches were contagious! (jk of course)
We ate breakfast together, then he went off to work at Disney. I worked on Boston Foodie Finds, and upon looking back at my Hartford list just to clean it up, found that the Whole Paycheck there is right next to a Japanese grocery store!!! Eeeeeeee!!!! Something to look forward to!

Around 9:30am I Ubered to my dentist appointment. It took longer than expected but there's nothing new in my mouth so, great. Walked across the street to CVS and got an Easter basket and grass for Jameson, and some candies. I know he's 45 but, come on, who doesn't like a little reminder of childhood on the holidays?

Back home I wiped the fan blades, had lunch, then got to work scrubbing the shower.
I hate, hate, HATE cleaning the shower. Because I'm only home once every few months, I clean with a very intense bleach scrub that keeps mold and mildew away for like 60 days or so, but it smells horrific and makes one's eyes burn. I spray the entire shower, turn the ventilation on, and let it sit for 30 minutes, then scrub it away. Sometimes I'll scrub it twice if needed. It's awful and gives me a headache, but at least I only have to do it once every 4 months or so. 

After that I practiced a bit, then decided to wet-Swiffer the floors since dry Swiffering had collected so much dust the other day. And finally I raked the front yard using the actual rake this time, and got three trash bags' worth of leaves out of that. It was hard and sweaty work, but I am a tough cookie :p 

Jameson got home at his usual time, and we just ate leftovers. He was in a depressed mood, and I listened while he ranted about work. Lord knows he's listened to me complain about my myriad, low-paying, frustrating jobs over the years. I can see why he was down today: both jobs are just being unsatisfactory in their own ways. Things will get better, but today they were hard, that's all.

I also must admit that in the context of the health issues he's experiencing, I am feeling much more aware of my own health, how fortunate I am to have it, and that I need to appreciate it and protect it. For example, to dispose of the raked leaves in the wooded area behind our house I had to pull our trash bin (it looks like THIS) back there, and lift the full bin over my head to dump the leaves over the side of the chain link fence. Multiple times. Without pain, and with the strength to be able to do that. There will quickly come a day when my body won't be able to do that any more. Even a small accident could take that ability away from me. Seemingly little things like raking leaves or doing house chores, that I do without thinking twice, require a level of physical health that also equates to self-reliance and independence. There are a lot of things that Jameson doesn't do right now because he's in constant pain. I need to appreciate what I have, and do what I can to support him. 

Just thoughts, today.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday:
We have a BATB "safety meeting" via video chat to discuss...."Unannounced Law Enforcement Visits."  What does THAT sound like to you? I know what it sounds like to ME (-_-) Other than that, I have no plans except continuing to wage Dust Battle, practicing, and making us dinner.

Saturday: Lunch at The Boathouse with Jameson, no plans otherwise.

Sunday: Nada. This'll be about the time I'll find myself wishing for a part time job that I can pick up when not touring.

The Friday Five for 27 March 2026

Mar. 26th, 2026 07:57 pm
anais_pf: (Default)
[personal profile] anais_pf posting in [community profile] thefridayfive
1. What is a common ear worm that you get?

2. How long do they last?

3. What do you do to get rid of them?

4. What is the worst ear worm you've ever had?

5. Do you get some guilty pleasure in passing the ear worm along?

Copy and paste to your own journal, then reply to this post with a link to your answers. If your journal is private or friends-only, you can post your full answers in the comments below.

If you'd like to suggest questions for a future Friday Five, then do so on DreamWidth or LiveJournal. Old sets that were used have been deleted, so we encourage you to suggest some more!
taz_39: (Default)
[personal profile] taz_39
My Whole Paycheck (Amazon) grocery order magically disappeared last night. I was refunded. Luckily this was just foods I wanted for the coming week, nothing I needed badly. I wonder what Amazon does when this happens? I guess it depends on the circumstances (did the driver's car break down? Did they forget my order in the back of their trunk? Who knows.)

After a bit of wibbling I decided to place the same order again for tomorrow. Give them another chance. If it falls through again I'll stick with Publix/Instacart for the rest of the layoff and call it a lesson learned.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

MONDAY


A normal morning. Breakfast and I whipped up some Oreo truffles to bring to the Main Street Phil guys tomorrow. If you've never made Oreo truffles they're super easy: smash a whole package of Oreos (normal-sized, not family-sized), mix it with a softened block of cream cheese until uniform color, roll into 28-ish balls, and dip in melted white or dark or milk chocolate. Let harden in the fridge for 10-15 minutes, and box 'em up. Easy-peasy and they taste great.

After that and cleanup, my Publix/Instacart groceries showed up. This was mostly replacing cleaning supplies around the house, not much in the way of food. The Whole Paycheck order was still en route because that store is much farther away.

I used the time waiting to get rid of any potted plants that are around. The sad truth is that there is no point keeping plants at all if I'm not here. Jameson is not a gardener, and nearly everything has died since I've been gone. The ONE plant that is doing well is a small misc houseplant pot that I bought because it's in sphagnum moss, which only needs watering like once a month, and Jameson seems able to remember to do that much.

This one is the survivor:
d.jpg

The succulent pot that I bought in October(?) did not work out. They're all dead or dying.
f.jpg

Around the outside of the house were two potted pineapples (dead) and my lemon tree that has done poorly. I dumped the pineapples and sort-of planted the lemon tree, we'll see if it survives.
fff.jpg

My vanilla orchid is dead. I'm sad but not surprised. Florida had some brutal frosts this year with lows in the 20s, and this plant can't survive that. I tore down as much of it as I can reach. I am left with memories of when it was thick and green, and that one special Easter when it bloomed for us :)
ffff.jpg

And finally, my banana trees "died" in the frost as well. The two biggest, anyway.
ff.jpg

"Died" in quotes because bananas are clones. They are not a true tree but a rhizome that reproduces by sending out little copies of itself at the base of the trunk. Sure enough, there are three "pups" still living. I don't know how they'll do but they at least have a shot. I cut down the dead trees and cleaned up the little ones.
fffff.jpg

As I was finishing up with the bananas my Whole Paycheck grocery order arrived. There was a packet of raw chicken, which is going straight in the freezer and when I thaw it in a week or so that will tell the tale of whether it was kept cold during this delivery. Cleaned myself up and had lunch with Jameson, packed a lunch and snacks for Main Street Phil tomorrow, typed up this post, and practiced trombone. Checked the mail, wiped the silica dust off the front door (the door is black/dark so the dust shows up strongly there.) A light snack and Jameson had to give a Zoom class so I quietly researched hotels and flights for my brother's wedding, which isn't until October but I should look at bookings now.

Jameson was in a mood for BBQ and neither of us wanted to cook, so we went to Sonny's which is a chain. It wan't anything mind-blowing but was very good and service was awesome. We talked about lots of things, but mostly the upcoming sit in Boston. Jameson will see our show for the first time, and he went to Berklee too. He hasn't been to Boston in a long time and is looking forward to showing me his old haunts...where he lived and worked, some of his favorite restaurants, stuff like that. I'm THRILLED that we can spend time together while I'm on tour! Although most family visits tend to stress me out, a lot of that is because my family is not musicians and they don't understand a lot of what I do or why I have to do it. Jameson is a musician too. He GETS it...he gets this world and my work. I can relax with him here and not worry so much. And we can do fun things together!!

We also worried about the current TSA situation. There are reports across the socials of people being trapped in TSA lines for 2+ hours and missing their flights. Footage of huge long lines extending out into airport parking lots, and reports of PreCheck lanes being closed. In Jameson's case he can just get a refund and use the money for a flight some other time. But in my case, I have to get to WORK. The alternative would be to drive 20+ hours to Hartford after the layoff. I'll keep watching the MCO airport live tracking, and hope it doesn't come to that.

After dinner we chilled with gaming in his case and reading/playing solitaire in mine. We went to bed early as we both have to get up early tomorrow.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TUESDAY


I was up early for breakfast ahead of a full day at the Magic Kingdom! Jameson was working at Disney as well and we left at about the same time, he by driving and me by Uber. It is decidedly odd to Uber onto Disney property instead of driving myself, but I will get used to it.

Going back down into the Utilidors (employee-only area under Cinderella's Castle) was absolutely nostalgic. Yes it's kinda smelly and old under there...but it's historic and beautiful too. In the same way that a dusty 1920s Fox or Orpheum theater is worth preserving and appreciating, so is Disney, so is the Magic Kingdom and the Utilidors. It's truly a privilege to walk in these amazing places freely, as though at home.
Utilidor_0.preview.jpg
(stock image)

I wasn't totally sure what to expect today...it started out as me asking if I could swing by for a social visit, to bring treats and say hello because I miss the guys :) But Mike (the boss) said ihe could make it a paid rehearsal day. It's been a full year since I've played ANY Main Street Philharmonic music, and I was concerned they might ask me to play a set. But no, Mike understood completely when I said I'd rather audit, shadow, and practice. It's been a year, after all.

We started the day with a rehearsal (Tuesdays are always rehearsal days for the full timers.) I made sure to leave the Oreo truffles and turtle chips out, and they were very appreciated.

Next, the first set. It was special! Because MAIN STREET MICKEY showed up to conduct the band!!!

As soon as "Mickey is here!" rippled through the crowd, people RUSHED to see, hoping to get a photo op with Mickey. They are still working out the logistics of having Mickey as part of this set due to the mad rush of people, but from what I saw it was handled very well and people were VERY happy to see Mickey up close. Self included! I still don't have a picture of myself with Boss Mouse, and this was the closest I've ever been to him!

During this set I noticed that there were cherry pickers all around the Castle.
ddd.jpg

This is very unusual during operating hours, but the guys said the park is working around the clock to get the Castle repainted (it was previously pink and now it'll be more white/blue.)

There was another set during which I got to see the band do an updated version of our Encanto Medley and made a recording of that for myself. During the breaks between sets I practiced the changes to the music, ate lunch, and tried on my costume(s) to make sure they still fit (they do.) I walked with the band to the parade start point and watched their entrance because they'd made a change to that, and to some of the music along the route.

Took a little video. It was wonderful to walk through the people and hear excitement as the band approached, and see cheering and clapping and smiling.


I know that there's a lot to see at Disney, but to know that people will stop to enjoy the band's performance, to wave and cheer, and then go on with their vacations hopefully with a little more positivity and joy because of it...well, it's really lovely to think about. And it makes me proud, that I can sometimes be a part of bringing that joy to others.

After that was a longer break. Tony (bass trombone) used that time to check out my Yamaha bass which I'd specifically brought so he could give it a whirl :) He spent a solid 20 minutes with it and enjoyed it very much! And then he asked if there was anything I'm struggling with on bass, and when I told him he gave me basically a free lesson! He also showed me how to properly lubricate the rotors, something that I've never been taught. Embarrassed to admit that but also very grateful that Tony kindly showed me how without judgement. Hhe is such a kind, cool dude! I gave him a BIG hug and thanked him profusely.

There was one more set which I went out and watched, then I left before the Flag Retreat because nothing has changed with that and I figured it'd be better to call an Uber as early as I could. Overall it was a fun day at the park hanging out with my coworkers and friends. Whether I get paid for it or not, it was absolutely worth doing!

Back home I got caught up with Jameson. He has the results of his MRI: bone spurs and nerve compression in his neck, ranging in severity in several locations. His next step will be to speak with a specialist about treatment options. We expect that his insurance will make him do physical therapy first, but he is prepared to endure that if it means he might finally be in less pain.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday:
More Dust Battle, and I may make us something for dinner. Jameson will have half a day working from home and the other half at Disney.

Thursday: I have a dentist appointment and will probably also drop my coat off at the dry cleaner's. Scrubbing the shower (ugh.)
taz_39: (Default)
[personal profile] taz_39
FRIDAY

Breakfast and coffee, working on Hartford Foodie Finds. It should be done by now but my heart is not in it, and I know that Boston Foodie Finds is immediately after and I'm daunted by THAT task.

As I was preparing overnight oats for myself for tomorrow, I reached into the spice cabinet to grab the cinnamon and saw The Dust coating every single jar of spices (I have already wiped down the spice RACK, but this is the spice CABINET, you see.) Cue a big heavy sigh and taking every single jar of spices out....wiping them down....wiping the cabinet, wet and dry....putting everything back....

...and there were three shelves, only the BOTTOM one was spices and the next one up is MEDICINES....and the one above that is bandages and first aid stuff.....

It took, I don't know, 20-30 minutes. And this is going to continue happening.
But whatever. Aside from that sneak attack, I would like a break from Dust Battle today. I've pushed really hard to do a lot in this first week, and feel that means it's OK to take a break from it for a day?

While Jameson worked on Disney stuff in his studio, I cooked some chicken breast because I'm making enchiladas for us tonight. We ate lunch together while the chicken cooled. I shredded the chicken and stored it for later, and practiced trombone for just 30 minutes or so. Took the small trombone (my Williams 6) out to give it a whirl and it feels so tiny. I have definitely adjusted "down" since starting Beauty and the Beast, such that the small horn I used to be very comfortable with now feels like a stranger. Starting tomorrow I'll be playing through some Main Street Phil stuff and the Easter gig stuff on the Williams, to get ready for those upcoming gigs.

Next, Jameson had a massage at 2pm and I had a tax appointment. UGH.
Thankfully I use a company that is familiar with musician-taxes. I thought for sure that the untaxed 1099 income from Epic Universe work would be financially devastating this year...but it turns out the withholdings from the tour pretty much covered that. Phew!! I ended up owing about the same amount that I do every year. That was a huge relief.

I cooked the enchiladas for dinner and they tasted delicious but turned out strangely mushy. Jameson thinks it's because I lined the bottom of the pan with foil, and that prevented crisping. I think he may be right.

To my surprise, Jameson suggested going to the new H-Mart tomorrow!!
It's the biggest H-Mart in the US, and just opened in Orlando last year. I've been DYING to go but it's been a madhouse. I expect it to be pretty crazy on a Saturday afternoon too, but we both really want to check it out just once. I have a short list of snacks that I want (Tokyo Banana, chocolate churro turtle chips, Chuhai if they sell it, white peach ice cream) and we're gonna have lunch in the food court. Yeeeek, can't wait!

A video because I plan to be in the moment tomorrow with Jameson, not looking at everything through my phone.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SATURDAY


I was up early due to H-Mart excitement :)

Breakfast and finishing Hartford Foodie Finds (finally), digging a styrofoam cooler out of the garage in case we find cold things to bring home, and doing a little tour planning...the company has booked us some rather late or tight-connection flights coming up, so I've taken more buyouts than usual and need to notate those so I don't forget them.

When Jameson was up and around he did some grading and I got dressed, and off we went. I was relieved to see there was no line to get IN...that has been the case since it opened during peak hours. We were there on a Saturday at lunch time so we were risking it.

CLICK HERE for H-Mart Adventures )

Back home, our haul (or part of it):
655829955_10109771122309592_6118275666157601757_n.jpg

Pictured:
  • Chocolate Churro Turtle Chips (viral)
  • Mystery fruit AND veggie electrolyte drink(?)
  • Wasabi Shiitake Chips
  • Pumpkin flavored yakgwa (we didn't know what this was but it looked nice, I looked it up later)
  • "Pine bud" soda
  • Muscat Grape Dessert Jelly (this is Jameson's but imma try it)
  • Pineapple Citrus Soda
  • Tokyo Banana
  • White Peach Ice Cream
Not pictured (Jameson's stuff):
  • Cheeseburger flavored popcorn
  • Misc grape or peach-flavored sodas and beverages
  • Watermelon seltzer
  • Sushi assortment
I am excited to try all of these! I still have two weeks at home, but might have to try packing some of this or ship it to myself if my luggage gets overweight. Because there are other things I'd planned to pack, like my sister's homemade fruit jams and my black pea coat and my black boots and, and...

Anyway I'm so glad that we got to experience H-Mart together! We were in there for two hours, but if you consider that part of that was sitting to eat lunch and a lot of it was having to move slowly due to crowding, we still got to see the entire store and it was still a lot of fun. I'd love to go back on some random Tuesday between like 2-3pm and see if it's not so crowded.

We chilled out for the rest of the afternoon and ate a late dinner, being full from lunch. I ate random things to fit my macros (an apple, canned pumpkin, tuna) and Jameson had his sushi.

Later on we enjoyed the white peach ice cream. WOW is it good. Often if a food is "pretty," it looks better than it tastes. That is not the case here. I know these are expensive, but I think that if you're able to try them, go for it just once! The peach flavor was exceptional, the ice cream was incredibly smooth and rich, the white chocolate shell painted to look like a peach was a perfect accent and texture. We want to go back for the lemon-flavored version.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUNDAY


I was awake at 8am and could have slept for another two hours easily, but I almost never let myself. There is always too much to do, and I feel guilty about lazing in bed (though I probably do need the sleep.)

Breakfast and starting on Boston Foodie Finds. When Jameson got up I went outside to tackle the pool deck. Sweeping the deck is something I do every few months anyway, but it's part of Dust Battle now because the contractors thought it would be smart to shove tile out the bathroom entrance door.

Before sweeping. It's hard to tell but there's a layer of grey-white dust, some small tile particles and pieces, and in the right corner there are chunks of broken tile that I guess they just shoved out the door while they were renovating the bathroom.
s.jpg

After sweeping.
ss.jpg

And yes, we have a door from our bathroom to the pool deck. A lot of FL homes have this so you can go straight from the pool to the shower/toilet without tracking water all through the house.

The rest of the deck was pretty normal although there was a lot of debris because it's been too long since I did it last.

A big red millipede. These are very common, if you live here and have a pool or water nearby you will see them pretty much daily.
sss.jpg

I had to move all of the deck furniture around and shake out the rug and wipe down the chairs and such. By the time I was done I'd burned 200 calories. Which is good because I want to eat my Asian snacks :p

Speaking of, I tried the "Pine bud drink." Doesn't it LOOK like Pine Sol? And so, it tastes EXACTLY as you are imagining right now, LOLOL
ssss.jpg

I left it out for Jameson to try (he choked and was very dramatic which made me laugh) then poured it down the drain. Kind of knew that might be the outcome but as a person who enjoys pine cone jam, you never know what might surprise you and it's good to try new things. We had lunch together, I placed a grocery delivery order for Whole Paycheck and also ordered some small replacement items from Amazon. Hate to say it but without a car, services like Amazon and Instacart are going to be necessities for me regardless of which of their business practices or politics we're boo-hooing this week.

While I waited for the groceries I practiced trombone and Jameson worked on a birthday composition for a friend. I did a little more Dust Battle by climbing up above the kitchen counters to wipe the top of the fridge and cabinets...and was shocked to find not only the expected grey dust, but also HUGE chunks of tile!!! They HAD to have used a circular saw or a REAL jackhammer, to fling huge tile pieces up this close to the ceiling!! I guess I should be grateful that they cleaned up as much as they did. Christ. I wiped the fridge and edges of cabinets but left the area with tile chunks alone and will photograph it another time. Not sure how I will approach that. Then I did the mug cabinet, removing everything, rinsing all cups, wiping the inside of the cabinets, and putting everything back.

The groceries should have been here by 3pm at the latest, but by 2:45pm the driver looked to be sitting still and far away from my address. It took a while but I was able to get a refund. I guess tomorrow I'll either try again, or Uber somewhere. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Making Oreo truffles for the Main Street guys. More Dust Battle; probably wiping the front door, wiping the ceiling fan blades in every room, the tops of more doors and picture frames. Practicing trombone and packing for Main Street Philharmonic day.

Tuesday: All day with the Main Street Philharmonic! Hopefully they truly are OK with me just having a rehearsal day/not performing in the park, because it's been nearly a year since I've done any playing with them!!!
taz_39: (Default)
[personal profile] taz_39
---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

PSA:
I am reading and catching up on everyone's writings even if all I do is "like" or don't leave any feedback. It's been a crazier last-couple-days than expected. Haven't even gotten to unpack yet. But I do read everyone's posts when I wake up and before bed. Promise!!

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

Dust Info

TL;DR the majority of our flooring was tile, and one way or another breaking up the tile generated dust.

As far as how it got all over everything or why there's so much of it:

The floors were installed a month ago, and Jameson has done little to no cleanup since then (not a criticism, just a fact.) The dust has had an entire month to spread around the whole house via HVAC, ceiling fans, or being tracked from room to room.

From what little I saw of the renovations, a jackhammer and a sledgehammer were used to break up the floor. They may have used other tools like circular saws that might have generated a lot of dust. But ultimately I was not present for the renovations and did not see what happened.

Although Jameson removed or relocated the furniture, and the cabinets and immovable objects were covered with plastic, there is dust inside many of the cabinets and on all of the flat surfaces. The dust is lightest in the kitchen and dining room, moderate in the guest bedroom, and heaviest in the two bathrooms. I'm sure this has somewhat to do with size of space (containment) and what was and was not covered/protected during floor removal.

Cement/tile dust is a cancerous material (silica dust) and is dangerous/damaging when inhaled. That is why I'm especially anxious about it, cleaning it up in a specific researched way, while wearing a mask.

All right, there it is...I hope that makes sense or helps fill out the picture.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

WEDNESDAY


Jameson was up at 7am to go get his MRI. I couldn't go back to sleep. Breakfast and scanning my zillion tax forms. I have nine W2s, three 1099s, and a bunch of misc other forms from doing things like redeeming old savings bonds last year. Whoever is handed my taxes will have their work cut out for them.

I finished up about the time Jameson got home, looking pale and shaky. This was not his first MRI, but last time he went in waist-first. This time he went in head-first, and that triggered a MASSIVE panic attack. They had to pull him out and try again with fewer neck restraints and a towel over his head so he could get through it. I hugged him (not too tightly because he was literally JUST in a confined space) and when I let him go he seemed close to tears :( He is not prone to panic attacks so this was especially scary for him. He said his body just reacted and there was nothing he could do to make it stop. As someone who suffered intense panic attacks for a full year, I completely understand what it feels like, how terrifying it is, and how little control you have to make it stop once it's started. But he got through it, somehow, and that's great because hopefully he'll have results that will reveal more about what's going on with his neck and arm.

Jameson took a few deep breaths and went to work while I set a tax appointment and then started Dust Battle with the guest bedroom. I chose to clean this room next because it’s where I practice trombone and do my tour packing. I want to play the trombone with minimal dust inhalation, AND I still need to unpack but don't want to do that where dust will get on my tour clothing, cooking supplies, in my suitcase, etc.

Jameson had sort-of wiped some parts, and you can see where he did that and what level of dust we're dealing with here. It is odd to me that there's so much dust in this room as it was not a part of the renovation. But I wasn't here so I don't know what happened.
dust 3.jpg

I put on a KN95 and did the same wet microfiber followed by dry microfiber tactic as used in the kitchen, starting at the tops of furniture and doors and light fixtures and working my way down to countertops and tables. Same dresser as above, after I'd finished:
dust 4.jpg

I took the quilt outside and shook it thoroughly, and when it was back on the bed I moved my suitcase, trombone, and other things from the floor onto the bed and vacuumed. Then I put the things back on the floor and wiped everything down again with the dry microfiber as new dust was settling from the vacuuming.

Lunch break with Jameson, and I should have practiced trombone but didn’t feel like it. Instead I wiped all of the windowsills (LOADED with all kinds of dust, not just from the floor reno) then emptied the kitchen island because plaster and dust had gotten in there. Here you can see some of the pieces of plaster and tile, as well as a fine coating of dust near the inner walls.
dust1.jpg
dust.jpg

I rinsed all of the Tupperware and dishes that were down there, wiped all of the appliances, wiped the shelves down, and put everything back.
Drew a smiley in the dust on the crock pot. Sometimes the dust was hard to see, but on black appliances or surfaces it's pretty obvious.
dust2.jpg

Had meant to do the cup cupboard too but lost my steam for this. Instead I basic-dusted all of the furniture and surfaces in the living room and bedroom, as these were some of the least-dusty areas. Then I dry-swiffered the entire new floor with a microfiber cloth.

It was a little futile to Swiffer at this stage. Until I deep-clean the bathrooms (which are the dustiest/dirtiest) we will continue tracking debris and dust from the bathrooms throughout the house. I’ll definitely have to sweep again. But the feeling of stepping on plaster bits and grit all day has been annoying me, and it felt much better afterward.

We had dinner and watched TV together. Jameson did laundry and then I did mine, followed by a load with just the microfiber cloths and some towels that had been exposed to The Dust. I can't see dust on the towels but it must be there. Jameson had an overnight at Disney tonight. After he left I vacuumed and dusted the bedroom (but not the gigantic bookshelf in the bedroom, that will have to be a separate project.)

Overall I got a lot done today, but there is SO much more cleaning to do. I'll have to wipe the blades of ceiling fans, the tops of kitchen cabinets, the tops of doors, the baseboards. The bathrooms will need intense deep cleaning. The cups need to be rinsed still, and other kitchen cabinets probably need to be emptied and wiped. And then I'll have to wipe everything down AGAIN after knocking dust down from those high areas. But I've only been back for three days and so I think it's going as well as possible.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THURSDAY


Jameson was up at 7:30am for Disney. I got up shortly after him for breakfast. Spent way too much time typing things out/venting, but felt better afterward and ready to move forward.

Dust Battle continued with the master bathroom. I should mention that after the new flooring was installed, the toilets had to be pulled out and re-installed to be level with the new floor (a $3,000 fix, paid for by me.) That probably generated extra dust and debris.

I started with removing everything from the counters, and either washing each individual item in the sink or wiping it down to get the film of dust off. I opened the medicine cabinet and did the same there, removing everything, wiping each thing down, wiping the shelves, and putting things back. Under the sink, I didn't take everything out because only the few items nearest the doors had dust, but did wipe the insides of the doors and the bottom of the cabinet.

Next I wiped the tops of all the doors, the fronts of the doors and cabinets, the tops of all light fixtures (had to bring in a stepladder for that,) and the blinds for the pool entrance door. The blinds were awful, lots of plaster and dust had been trapped in them. Here's some of the plaster (this isn't even half, most of the rest I caught in the microfiber cloths)
d.jpg

Next the top of the standing shower, which was caked with fine white dust-paste. Again, this is a fraction of what was up there and it took multiple passes and washings of the microfiber cloth to get 90% of it.
dd.jpg

I wiped down the shower walls and shower head/handle, but did not scrub the shower as I consider that a separate chore from "cleaning the bathroom." I got behind the toilet to sweep up all the plaster back there, wipe the dust with wet microfiber, and then was finally able to do a "normal" cleaning of the bathroom albeit with two passes to wipe the toilet, once to collect dust and the second time to actually clean and disinfect. Cleaned the sink and counters with wet microfiber and then as normal. Swept the floor with a broom (wearing a mask,) then again with a dry microfiber, then again with a wet microfiber mop. Vacuumed the bath mats and put everything back.

I know there's no point of comparison but just trust me that this is significantly cleaner than it had been, and it was a huge relief to have gotten most of the gross dust out of there. I am looking forward to Jameson's reaction because he is always VERY appreciative of what I do around the house :)
ddd.jpg

The bathroom took about 90 minutes (3x longer than usual.) I finished at lunch time and took a break to eat. Made myself practice bass for 20 minutes.

Before continuing Dust Battle I swept out the garage and wiped the tops of some picture frames and door frames, then it was on to the guest bathroom. This is the tiniest room and the dust is most condensed here. Here is the counter by the sink.I ran a finger through the dust on the left there so you could see the difference.
dddd.jpg

The shower handle.
ddddd.jpg

Same process as the master bath: removing each little item, wiping it, wiping the insides of cabinets, tops of doors, shower walls, etc etc. There was a lot of plaster in the tub so I wet-swept that out. Wet microfiber, clean and disinfect, dry microfiber, wiping and mopping the floors. It was done faster than the master bath but I didn't time it.

After that I was VERY tired, but there was one last thing to do. Microfiber-swiffered all the new flooring, wet-microfiber-mopped all the new flooring, and vacuumed all of the carpet again (having knocked a bunch of dust down from on high today.)

With that, I have done the majority of MAJOR dust cleanup, and everything else will be single-projects (the shower, the bookshelf) or touch-up (light fixtures, windowsills, picture frames, etc.) And a week from today I'll check and see how much more dust has settled or been pushed out of the HVAC, and do a full (regular) cleaning again.

The house after all of my work on it. Not that you'd be able to tell a difference.
f.jpg

The kitchen, which I don't think Jameson ever sent a good pic of after the floor had been installed.
ff.jpg

Though I was tired, I called an Uber to the grocery for ingredients for dinner tomorrow and to replace some cleaning supplies I'd used up. Would rather do that today and get it over with. Picked up premade sushi for Jameson and I, and he got home just a few minutes after me. We ate and chatted about our day, I showed him my work around the house and he was happy and grateful as predicted :) We spent the evening relaxing on the couch. He's still struggling with anxiety from the MRI (sometimes it can take days for a panic attack to let you go) and I was exhausted and actually sore from all the housework over the last several days. It was good to sit still and quietly together. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Friday: 
Tax appointment. I will owe a lot this year thanks to Epic Universe which was all 1099 work. Other than practicing and cooking us dinner, I have no plans. I'd like to take a break from cleaning since I've made huge progress. 

Saturday: Jameson wants to go to the new giant H-Mart and I am SO EXCITED!!!

Sunday: No plans but will probably do one project-clean like the bookshelf, and practice. 

The Friday Five for 20 March 2026

Mar. 19th, 2026 03:19 pm
anais_pf: (Default)
[personal profile] anais_pf posting in [community profile] thefridayfive
These questions were suggested by [personal profile] melagan.

1. What was the reason you began a Dreamwidth or LiveJournal account (or both)?

2. How many DW or LJ communities do you subscribe to?

3. Do you have a favorite community or one you check out often to see what's new?

4. How did you pick your user name?

5. If you could change your user name, would you?

The following bonus questions are brought to you by the fact that I (anais_pf) have been unable to access any page of LiveJournal for more than a week (and therefore cannot post to The Friday Five there):

6. If you have a LiveJournal, are you currently able to access it?

7. Do you have any information about why one would be unable to access LiveJournal?

Copy and paste to your own journal, then reply to this post with a link to your answers. If your journal is private or friends-only, you can post your full answers in the comments below.

If you'd like to suggest questions for a future Friday Five, then do so on DreamWidth or LiveJournal. Old sets that were used have been deleted, so we encourage you to suggest some more!

EDITED TO ADD: Today for the first time in a while, I am able to see on my computer that LiveJournal does indeed exist. However, when I try to log in, I get the message "Your IP address is temporarily banned." I will try again later. I hope someday to access LJ again. Thanks to all who tried to help!
taz_39: (Default)
[personal profile] taz_39
Generally speaking, considering how much I travel (probably around 60 flights, drives, or bus rides per year), I've had incredibly good travel fortune *knocks on wood*

Certainly every year there are 1-2 major snafus, and several delays and inconveniences, but in the end I always do get where I'm going.

I am saying that out loud because it has been less than a year touring with BATB, and already we've had several..."trying" travel days. I want to remember to be appreciative that things have mostly gone smoothly.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

That said, I went to sleep around 11:30pm and was rudely awoken just a few minutes later by my phone screaming and the following alert
(remember that you can click to open in a new tab and enlarge)
blarney.png

....followed shortly by a tornado siren outside. Wheeeee.

Fortunately there was not an actual tornado in Louisville, but this is their alert system for watches as well as warnings. The siren continued for about 20 minutes, and stopped after the imminent threat was deemed to have passed. It took a long time to get back to sleep but I finally managed around 1am. My alarm went off at 3:30am...at which point I saw that my flight had been cancelled. Sigh.
blarney2.jpg

Hilariously, if I had booked an even earlier flight (5am takeoff!) I might have actually made it!!
American Airlines had auto-rebooked me on the next available flight: an overnight/redeye that would arrive around 1am on Tuesday. Umm, no. I searched flights frantically, but everything was of course either cancelled or astronomically priced, and only 3 flights would get me to Orlando today, and all of them had late night arrivals.

And so of course next I looked at rental cars. It would be an awfully long drive, but considering the flights would arrive at the same time it didn't really make a difference to me. ALL of the airport rental cars were sold out (not surprising, I'm sure there were a lot of cancellations) but there was a Hertz nearby that seemed to have some rentals. I made a booking for $400, which was the cheapest I could find for a one-way.

At that point I checked my email to see the rental confirmation and saw that Aaron (Company management) had sent flight rebooking options. They were the same ones I'd found, astronomically priced, and although Disney was willing to both pay for that AND extend my hotel room, I'd have to sit around for the whole day and then Uber to the airport, fly, Uber home, and still arrive later than if I'd driven. Therefore I sent Aaron my rental car findings and asked if Disney might cover it. He said yes. I was unable to get back to sleep after that, so spent the time submitting refund requests for my prepaid luggage and cancelling my Instacart order for today (I'll have the rental car through Tuesday morning so why not use it.)

At time of typing, I've finished breakfast and in a few minutes I'll Uber to the rental place to see if they actually do have cars available. If so, this travel day will be a 14-hour drive on 3ish hours of sleep.

But you know what? That's still way more sleep than most parents of newborns get!! BAM.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

MONDAY


They had THREE rental cars available and were way overbooked, but I was the first to show up and therefore I got a car. YAY! I let Aaron know, then hit the road. The sky looked very interesting. It was very windy, and although the storm system had passed Louisville I'd be driving right into it on the way to Orlando.
blarney3.jpg

The first part of the trip was fine. When I got to the Cumberland area of Tennessee, though, I-65 S was quite the winter wonderland. The wind made the snow blow directly AT the windshield, plus the highway wound through the mountains, up and down steep inclines.


Still, it is nothing I haven't driven before (compared to driving through the Rockies this is NOTHING) and I just went slowly and diligently along until the snow turned to slush, then rain. Stopped for gas or snacks or to pee as needed, and tried to go for as long as I could between stops. Hit the expected awful traffic in Atlanta, some construction traffic elsewhere, and there were one or two accidents. But overall it was a very smooth trip.

10-or-so hours later I was in Florida. Even if I hadn't seen the welcome sign, the change in the foliage is immediate. Swampy trees draped in Spanish moss, pines that look prehistoric, saw palms and tall palms and cranes that look like pterodactyls flying overhead. Ospreys carrying fish. I could easily imagine a dinosaur peeking out from among the trees along the highway.
blarney4.jpg

I finally reached home in the 13th hour (10pm.) I made REALLY good time all things considered. Jameson was just getting ready for bed when I walked in the door. I'd barely gotten any sleep and was bleary-eyed from staring at the road for 13 hours, but hugged him tightly and took time to marvel at the lovely new flooring! (And cringe at the absolutely awful coating of GREY DUST on EVERY SINGLE SURFACE. More on that later.) We went to bed pretty quickly.

As I was starting to drift off I was still getting notifications for the auto-rebooked flight that I hadn't taken: it was delayed twice, and had just landed in Charlotte at 11:30pm. Where the connecting flight was also delayed. Yeah, I made the right choice.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

TUESDAY


Sadly I could not catch up on sleep just yet. The rental car needed to be returned, but before that I was up at 6:45am to be at Publix right when it opened. I needed food for myself and ingredients for dinner for us. I don't have a car any more, remember? So it was now or never. That done, I slammed down breakfast as Jameson left for work, then fought rush hour traffic to the airport. Returned the rental and got an Uber back home.

And then...it was time to face The Dust.

The floors are beautiful...but literally every surface is coated in very fine, slightly sticky grey dust. And there are small pebbles of plaster or tile here and there. It's even gotten inside the cabinets, so it's on some of our dishes, clothing, appliances, etc. Not to mention on the tops of picture frames and on chairs and between keyboard buttons, and...

Just looking at it made me SO anxious and upset. It's impossible. We are going to be breathing and eating this dust for YEARS and there's absolutely nothing to do about it. But after a few deep breaths and thinking carefully about it, I accepted that I was just going to have to spend a little time, every single day for the next three weeks, fighting The Dust.

It's the same as practicing trombone. A little every day, and as long as you stick to it, relentless and gradual progress is made. Half as much dust is better than full dust; 1/4 as much dust will be better still. With that in mind and some desperate determination, I put on a KN95 and got to work. The kitchen was first because we need to be able to prepare food safely first and foremost (wtf has Jameson been eating?! The Dust, that's what :/ ) After researching online I had bought some microfiber cloths. I wiped each counter down with a wet microfiber, then a dry one to avoid kicking the dust into the air. I wiped or hand-washed every single bottle, cup, appliance, and piece of dishware on the counter. I wiped down all of the cabinet doors and inside the doors. Wiped each individual spice jar and the rack. Carefully wiped down the stove, my coffee pot, the toaster.

Ate a quick lunch then tackled the cupboard. Every single food item, jar, box of supplies was coated in The Dust. Starting at the top shelf, I removed and wiped every single thing using a Swiffer dry duster, then wiped the shelf down, then put everything back and proceeded to the next shelf down. Throwing away expired items as I went. Wiped and mopped the entire kitchen floor. Then wiped the kitchen chandelier, table, all of the chairs, placemats, etc.

By the time all of that was done it was about 2pm and time to start prepping dinner, a stew that would take 3 hours to simmer. I washed all of the dishes I'd be using and then cooked as normal. Got the stew bubbling on the stove, then got to work on the brown Irish soda bread. This isn't the sweet kind with raisins and caraway seeds; it's a rustic loaf that comes together like biscuit dough. A mix of wheat and white flour, buttermilk, egg, salt, baking soda, and butter. Smoosh it loosely together, bless it with a cross and poke it in each quarter to "let the faeries out." Bake for 45 minutes.
651772867_10109749850343782_235740043334806033_n.jpg

A few minutes before Jameson got home I made mashed potatoes and took the lid off the stew. Jameson walked in just as I was finishing, took a deep whiff of the homemade food, and smiled :) He doesn't cook for himself much at all, and this is probably the first homemade meal he's had since I left for tour months ago. It turned out wonderfully. The stew was tender beef cubes with carrots, celery, onion, garlic, thyme, bacon, salt and pepper, Guinness, and a splash of Worcestershire. It was REALLY good, and we both used the hearty brown bread to sop up the rich broth. The potatoes were just a good blank canvas and texture contrast. 
650146592_10109749850328812_4218255547337248452_n.jpg

I cleaned up while Jameson gamed, then we watched baseball together on the new couch-thing (I can sit there too now! Nice!)

A very productive day. And, Happy St. Paddy's Day! 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wednesday:
Jameson has an MRI for his shoulder, and work. I will tackle the guest bedroom so I'm not breathing in loads of dust while practicing trombone, and I need to scan all of my tax documents. 

Thursday: Jameson will be working at Disney so I'll have the house to myself. Will tackle the master bath, and if there's time I'll dry-Swiffer and mop ALL of the new flooring too. 
taz_39: (Default)
[personal profile] taz_39
**Disclaimer** The views and opinions expressed in this post are my own, and do not reflect the views or opinions of my employer. DO NOT RESHARE ANY PART OF THIS POST WITHOUT PERMISSION. Thank you.

This post covers the weekend.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

Previous Louisville visits that I forgot to mention


2013 with the circus. We had a beautiful train run in. Visited the Ohio River, Louisville Slugger Museum, a glass museum, antique stores, Gordon Biersch, a local bakery, and got to see preparations for the KY Derby.

2014 again with the circus. Visited the Ohio River again, ate at a local restaurant that seems to no longer exist. We were going to Mexico the following week so everyone was preparing for that jump and that took much of our focus/energy. This was also the last time we saw our trumpeter, Slick, alive. He had been fighting cancer and came out to have a meal with us one last time. That was hard.

---    ---    ---    ---    ---    ---

FRIDAY


Up early to do laundry. I'm leaving a lot of extra stuff in my trunk this time. Extra clothes, my heavier black shoes, extra black sweater, misc canned goods, pretty much anything that I won't need while at home and will lighten my luggage. Because I'm bringing my winter stuff back to Florida for storage, and some treats and gifts for Jameson. And on the way back from the layoff I'm bringing things like my black peacoat, suit jacket, Easter and Christmas candy, and who-knows-what else. Sorting it all out now because tomorrow is the day it's all got to go in my trunk for three weeks.

After laundry was folded and put away it was breakfast, starting Hartford Foodie Finds, and sending DC Foodie Finds to the group. Sorting some luggage receipts from recent flights, booking rental cars for upcoming layoff things, researching what's near my dentist appointment and such so that I can maximize Uber rides while home (for example there's a Publix across the street so it would be a good use of time to get any groceries needed after the appointment.) These are the things I'll have to consider now that I don't have a car.

For lunch I went to a Korean place near our hotel. The big draw here is their bentos. I got the beef bulgogi. It came with sticky white rice, kimchi, folded egg, broccoli, little japchae mini-dumplings, and pickled daikon(?). So good!
649841368_10109725091670362_4550045708789608176_n.jpg

Afterward I took myself for a walk to an intersection that had both a Dollar Tree and a Family Dollar. Sometimes dollar stores have good pajama bottoms, or weird snacks that you don't see often. There was nothing of interest for me today but I got 2 miles of walking in anyway. It was very windy and dust and pollen were flying, not many people were out.

This mural would be gorgeous if there weren't a fence in the way. The birds are not white; they are mirrors.
q.jpg

A normal afternoon which did include a nap since I'd been up early. Dinner and walking to the theater early so I could pack my trunk. This is something we can wait until Saturday to do, but our room is a bit cramped this week and I don't want to be in the way of others.

Have I even shown you my trunk? There's not much to see...
r.jpg

On the right is the Instapot that I haven't used yet (not visible,) topped with a bag containing two sweaters. Ringing that are my black boots, "nice" toilet paper, water bottle, umbrella, and pretty much any loose stuff I can cram in the cracks. To the left is a biggish Tupperware (not visible) that has any food items plus lighters, box cutters, batteries, band aids, candles, medications, and misc useful stuff like that. On top of that is a clothing cube with extra clothes + my "lap desk" for when I want to lie in bed with my laptop. In front of that is the Mini Keurig and some Ziploc bags. And there are some BATB posters and swag crammed in there too. Now you've met my trunk :)

Anyway. It was rather cold and windy in the pit too, weirdly...in fact the draft was so strong that the pages of Tim's music were turning on their own! I wore my sweater for the entire show.

Jameson was out with friends to see Jason Robert Brown perform at Judson's Live. I fell asleep before he got back home, but woke up when he texted to say he'd gotten back safely. Just like when I'm home in person and he comes home late and wakes me up, I asked how it went and tried to keep my eyes open while he described the concert and all the parts that had made him happy :) I love that we can have these moments even at a distance. And that he is going out and having fun without me (in fact he needs to do that more often!!)

Finally, Full Blown Trombone Studio posted this very kind "thank you" for the masterclass that I gave. It was a great experience for both of us, and I hope we get a chance to do one of these in person! (remember that you can click on the image to open in a new tab then click it again to enlarge)
Screenshot 2026-03-14 103014.png

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SATURDAY


Woke up wishing for more sleep, but also too hungry for more sleep :p

Breakfast and Foodie Finds, and realizing that I'm basically short a meal for Sunday AND that most restaurants in Louisiville are closed on Sundays! What to do. A little before noon I decided to walk to the Korean place again and see if they'd sell me a kimbap. I could pair that with one of my tuna pouches or something tomorrow. Tour eating is weird.

The kimbap is only on the menu as an entree that comes with other sides, but they were happy to sell me one by itself. Yay! On the way back to the hotel with my prize I passed a bagel shop that has not appeared on Google Maps, yet there it was: Barry Bagels. Intrigued, I went inside and found out from the staff that they've only been open for three weeks! That explains it. They make their own bagels in house, have breakfast and lunch sandwiches, AND are open on Sunday! I got two bagels for myself (Vanilla Cinnamon and Chocolate Chip because I love sweets) and quickly shared the existence of this place with the tour chat. Hopefully that'll get them some business.

Lunch and walking to the theater. The matinee was nice, kind of a normal crowd and normal show. It is still chilly in the pit. Back to the hotel between shows for a snack, decompressing with some YouTube videos, and researching potential sides for Easter dinner. Evening show was fine, nothing to report.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SUNDAY


Up early to get a few things from hotel breakfast and to check in for my flight. Usually Earlier Flight = Better, but in this case I might have shot myself in the foot: there's tornado potential and stormy weather between Sunday and Monday, and later travel might have been the better choice. Too late now and I'll just go into it expecting delays (and wearing SeaBands and taking St. John's Wort in hopes of not having a panic attack during turbulence.)

Breakfast and working on Hartford Foodie Finds, prepping snacks for today's shows and packing a little. Watching Owl House. I'm getting near the end I think, and not sure what show to pick up after finishing it.

Lunch was the kimbap with an added protein and it was awesome.
At the theater, the logo truck had been moved from the loading dock to across the street. One easy way to tell it's Load Out Day.
Untitled.jpg

The matinee was good, though I was distracted due to worrying about the weather and flying. Then I found out I'd done DC Foodie Finds incorrectly: the hotel had been changed and I hadn't noticed! ARGH. Most of it is still accurate but some parts are now wrong, and I had to tell the group that. Considering I've been doing Foodie Finds for several years now and this is the first time I've released a wrong sheet without catching it first, I'd say that's a pretty good track record. 

Back at the hotel, eating random leftovers for dinner and considering some upcoming travel options for Indianapolis and Madison. It is very windy here.

The evening show was all right. Ryu (violin) was smart enough to visit Company Management and pick up some hand warmers since it has been cold and drafty in this pit. I put one in the pocket of my black fleece sweater and it did actually help, because when I'm cold I get more tense and being a little warmer let me relax, = playing better. After the show we packed up for load out as usual, but five of us--violin, clarinet, trumpet, horn, and trombone (me)--will now have 3 weeks off due to Rule 24, while the others--the MD, Key 1, Key 2, Swing Key, Drums, and Flute--go on to DC for three weeks at the National theater. Tbh I don't envy them; that theater's pit is cramped.

Wished safe travels to everyone and dragged my bass trombone back to the hotel to package it up safely for travel. Packed more things and typed up this post. It's already 10:30pm and I'll have to be up around 4am, and this travel day does not look promising. Wish me luck. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday:
Very early flight that's supposed to get me to Orlando by 11am, but I do definitely expect delays with the weather being what it is. Just hoping to arrive by the end of the day. If there's time, an Instacart for groceries and some cleaning, unpacking, catching up with Jameson.

Tuesday: Jameson will be at Disney, so I'll be busy with scanning tax paperwork, cleaning, and cooking a St. Patrick's Day dinner for us!
hamsterwoman: (Taskmaster -- John time starts now)
[personal profile] hamsterwoman
So, L and I went to see Hoppers at the movies on Thursday. The premise sounded very stupid to me when I first heard about it, but L had showed me the “lizard lizard lizard lizard” teaser some months ago, and the lizard looked cute, and L wanted to see it by RH was not interested in seeing it with her, so I said I would. I watched Dan Murrell’s review of it with some trepidation, but he said it was a good, though “lesser” Pixar, with a good message but not too preachy, which seemed relatively reassuring. And both L and I ended up enjoying it more than we expected and laughing A LOT, which was nice.

We saw it in 4DX, which was my first experience of that at feature length – more on this part )

In fact, the only time the chair-jolting part became really unpleasant was during the previews )

The movie itself was fun! More, with marked spoilers )

It’s not a movie that will stay with me in some, you know, profound way, like an Encanto or an Inside Out or a Spider-Verse, but it was cute and a time well spent! I even don’t terribly resent it for costing us $33/person XD (though, seriously, that is insane).

*

I also watched a couple of comedy specials:

Pierre Novellie Why Can't I Just Enjoy Things special – about his autism diagnosis via heckler. I liked Novellie when he appeared on How Do You Cope, talking about his autism, and enjoyed him as a guest on Elis & John, in more free-form conversation, and then [personal profile] scytale recommended this special, so I watched it (because I couldn’t get into Netflix for some reason, and B, whose email it’s linked to, was asleep in Normandy, so I couldn’t watch the James Acaster specials I was planning to watch with my solo dinner at home). I liked it (some joke spoilers) )

And then I was watching his other special on YouTube, Quiet Ones, and there is a bit he reads from a paper (because he finds it too boring to remember) about Moore’s Law XD I mean, what are the odds XD XD This show was from 2021, so a lot of it is about the lockdown, and I generally thought it was less strong (which makes sense, you would expect an artist to get better at his art as he practices it more), but I did appreciate the “quiet ones” bit, among the differences between men and women, after which the show is (justly) named.

*

Some more Taskmaster-adjacent content:

- CoC 4 portrait fanart -- what a gloriously mad bunch! :D (cartoon!Andy is my favorite)

- Another Taskmaster Podcast popped up for the second live event in NYC (the last night of the tour). There was some repetition of stuff I heard Greg say on other stops or other interviews, but still some fun gleanings. Assorted tidbits )

Long Alex & Greg interview during the US tour (YouTube): Fun and thoughtful, with some unusual questions and good rapport. Assorted tidbits )

*

I think it's also time for an Elis & John catch-up. It’s been a bit over a month since my last post, but really, because it took me about a month to get through the previous catch-ups, over 3 separate posts, I’ve actually got over two months worth of listening I’m catching up on – i.e. 2 months of new shows and about 7 months of Radio X backlog.

First, a visual bit: John and a giant teddy (from ~10 years ago?)

Second, John was on Chris and Rosie Ramsey’s “Shagged, Married, Annoyed” podcast earlier this year, where the schtick with the guest is he reads a listener-submitted story, which of course I don’t have much interest in, but he also talked about some personal stuff in more detail than I’ve heard elsewhere. (The recording was from about 6 months earlier than the podcast, so, mid-2025-ish, because How Do You Cope was actively putting out episodes and John said he’d been sober for 2.5 years, when he passed three years in November 2025.) Personal tidbits: giving up meat, spooky bum procedure )

Catching up on the current shows, Jan - Mar 2026 )

(I do also have ~8 months of Radio X shows to post about, but that's going to be a separate post -- hopefully it all fits in one, LOL.)

*

And oh hey, it's mid-March somehow, so this is probably a good time to check in on my fannish goals )
mark: A photo of Mark kneeling on top of the Taal Volcano in the Philippines. It was a long hike. (Default)
[staff profile] mark posting in [site community profile] dw_maintenance

Happy Saturday!

I'm going to be doing a little maintenance today. It will likely cause a tiny interruption of service (specifically for www.dreamwidth.org) on the order of 2-3 minutes while some settings propagate. If you're on a journal page, that should still work throughout!

If it doesn't work, the rollback plan is pretty quick, I'm just toggling a setting on how traffic gets to the site. I'll update this post if something goes wrong, but don't anticipate any interruption to be longer than 10 minutes even in a rollback situation.

Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:06 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios