Cyclist Population Explosion
Apr. 22nd, 2009 01:09 pmThere seems to have been a massive increase in the number of cyclists on the roads this week, what with the sunshine and everything. The problem is, it's all the rubbish cyclists, the slow and selfish ones, the ones you overtake on every single open section who then wobble past and pull up in front of you at the next traffic lights (if they don't jump them, although you still catch them on the next bit anyway), the ones who have no sense of what's happening on the road. This morning I was behind a van which pulled up to let someone else through a narrow bit between two rows of parked cars. There was me and a couple of other cyclists who stayed behind it as it was clearly going to move off again quite quickly. One idiot tried to go round the outside of the van and had to stop and get out of the way because there was something coming the other way, and another tried to get round the left hand end between the van and the parked cars; she nearly got squashed when the van moved off, and then had the cheek to act offended, as if it was the van driver's fault, as if that little strip of tarmac had been specially reserved for her, and any vehicle changing the shape of the available road as she originally saw it was just doing it to annoy her. I know of someone who normally cycles to work but avoids it in the first week after the hour changes in winter, because people aren't used to driving in the dark and make lots of stupid mistakes. I'm seriously tempted to avoid the rest of this week and the sunshine-drunk cyclists, myself.
Mind you, I saw Jon Snow on his bike yesterday.
Mind you, I saw Jon Snow on his bike yesterday.
no subject
Date: 2009-04-22 05:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2009-04-23 09:07 pm (UTC)I do get annoyed when stuck behind traffic because some idiot cyclist has selfishly fucked everything up for everyone else...
no subject
Date: 2009-04-23 09:59 pm (UTC)Most cyclists around here (not here, I'm in a Holiday Inn, but where I cycle) prefer to pavement.