shermarama: (Default)
[personal profile] shermarama
I was listening to the Radio 1 rock show on the way back from BFs practice on Monday night. The thing is, a lot of metal has excellent drums and at least some sort of effort to involve rhythm as part of the music rather than just being the background everything happens over, and it's got (or should have) bagloads of energy, which is why I got into all that in the first place, but a lot of recent metal stuff has had something I don't like in it that I can't pin down, that makes me just want to go listen to something else. Having worked off the backlog of musical urge in a nice high-speed practice, though, I wasn't being as impatiently critical as usual and could sit back and take it all in.

I have a suspicion that given the basics of good drums and the like, it all comes down to the vocals. There was a session from Gallows, who have a potentially interesting punk/metal crossover thing going on, but with the vocals as they are it's just another bloody emo band. I can see how emo vocals have been arrived at as a style, this sort of plaintive sound that breaks up into a higher-pitched shout for emphasis, and this makes sense, but it's been going long enough now that it's become automatic and thus stylised, and detached from the actual content or point. Have you ever had a conversation with a toddler that's trying to sulk? They try and make everything they say sound like a complaint and will keep it up regardless of the mismatch even if you get them to say something positive, which turns everything they say into a joke. Um, and then they sulk even more because you're laughing at them but never mind. I suppose it's the usual problem I have with songs that just do the automatic thing to do next rather than creating and running on their own internal sense, and in the case of the vocals the wrongness is all the way through the song, making the whole thing sound trivial. Once I had the sulking toddler analogy in my mind though, a Norma Jean song came on and reminded me what it is that bothers me about screamo vocals - they're toddlers one step further along, mid-tantrum, and I keep expecting every difficult-to-parse line to resolve into something about teddy bears. Oh well.

The contrast was illuminated by a band who sent me a friend-request on myspace last night. They're called Divine Chaos, they're a thrash band, nothing that original in many ways but everything fits together and does something, and the vocals are part of it, not getting in the way. They appealed to me like a lot of metal hasn't done in a long time. There was that agility in some of the changes that always cheers me up, not that there aren't some minor clunking bits too but there's space to get into the thing itself rather than spending the whole song thinking about why it's wrong.

I'm still not entirely sure this last bit's an advantage but the current rock show presenter is a Clutch fan and uses instrumental chunks of a couple of different Clutch tracks as beds for the links. I can entirely see how this works, he uses the intro to American Sleep which has a twenty-second grind-like false start (which only sounds better and harder with the radio compression) before swinging into the usual Clutch sound, but I keep thinking he's going to play American Sleep and then he starts talking. Bastard. He did play one off the new album that's not out til March, though, so you know. I'm pretty certain Child Of The City got played when I saw them in December, the verses go round in seven. I wonder if we're actually going to sort out going to Roadburn, even though we've missed the weekend tickets?

Date: 2007-01-10 05:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hollowpoint.livejournal.com
That's a great point about emo/screamo vocals. I love the toddler analogy. I'd not really figured out why I prefer Evergreen and Still Life and Mohinder and all that to, I dunno, Converge or Funeral For A Friend or what have you.

I always enjoy your music posts, even though I never respond - I just figure I don't have anything to add as I know jack shit by comparison. :)

Date: 2007-01-15 06:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hollowpoint.livejournal.com
There's probably little connection between those three other than the association with early emo (I hesitate to say authentic emo even though that's what I think). They're just bands I like, heh.

Apparently Britt Walford drummed for Evergreen, but I don't know for how long, or if he drummed on any of their records...

Date: 2007-01-12 10:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blue-mai.livejournal.com
quote from a book i read recently - "Cockeyed" - a memoir by Ryan Knighton, where he's talking about the music on the radio with his girlfriend: "Tune your delicate ear to the differences here. You can tell emo-metal from something like Moist because, without the music, emo-metal vocals sound like New Country. It drives the emo-metalheads nuts when you point this out. Garth Brooks could do this stuff, if he wanted, and he pretty much does."
now i don't know what Moist or Staind (who they were discussing) or emo-metal even sounds like, maybe it's a north american sub-genre, i do know what garth brooks sounds like... but that's not very helpful. could be funny though, if it's true.
i don't listen to R1 myself, i find the playlist and the DJs just way too irritating, but over the last few months at work i got a weekly dose, as we drove to and from site, it's the driver's preferred station. maybe it's because it's the same sort of mid-morning and mid-afternoon slots every week, but the playlist really is repetitive innit? and they play about 4 songs an hour. the odd thing that i noticed was that every week, without fail, they would play Panic! At The Disco while we were driving. maybe they just played it a lot, maybe it was following us... whatever. the first time i heard it i thought it was a spoof (is this serious? it can't be...), then after a few listens, i dunno, it's just one of the funniest things around, and the most toddler-like tantrum/song i can think of. maybe it's cos the lyrics that most stand out are the ones about "why can't you people ...(somethingorother).. closing the GODDAMN door..". i mean it's probably a really serious song and all, but it just sounds hilarious. much spitting and fury and badly-fitted-in-lyrics (something about rationalityyyyyyy). right i should stop rambling now and get back to work...

Date: 2007-01-12 04:48 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blue-mai.livejournal.com
still listen to the radio, but it's mostly radio2, 6music and xfm in the evenings. it used to be breakfast shows i couldn't tolerate, but these days it seems to be the afternoon slots on just about any station. not enough new or at least unpredictable music, too much in the way of irritating djs and their hilarious posses. i don't like adverts either. oh yeah i remember it's "haven't you people ever heard of closing the goddamn door" - it might be a song about social ettiquette but haven't the kids got better things to worry about than bit of a draught?...

Date: 2007-01-12 11:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blue-mai.livejournal.com
Radio2 - run by sentimental old fools for the listening pleasure of sentimental old fools - i feel i'm growing into that role quite comfortably...
(they also have pleasing/unexpected juxtapositions far more often than the "youth" stations)

Date: 2007-01-12 01:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] martinlitmus.livejournal.com
I'm not convinced I understand this stuff the young people are listening to these days... though the relatively massive success of Mastodon is quite nice to see.

Roadburn is going to be SO cool this year!

Profile

shermarama: (Default)
Sherm

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1234 567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 05:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios